New Track! Ted – Dope Soull (ft. Zayvionn & MDA)

Dope Soull Ted

NEW LEASE MUSIC regular DOPE SOULL returns with his latest offering, Ted. The track is the new release from his  mixtape Forever In A Minute.

EP Review: The Great – Blaccc Lotus


BLACCC LOTUS is not messing around in the recording studio! It’s been only five months since he released his mixtape Black Science on Soundcloud. Now he’s slammed another collection in the form of the EP, The Great.

The hip-hopper’s 7-track offering is a far cry from his mixtape – he shifts from the dense, downtempo bassline to sugary-sweet overtones and, at times, sampling old school beats from the 70’s and 80’s. As for his infamous raspy freestyle? Well, it’s faster than ever, so keep up!

The Great EP is the teaser to his upcoming album, White North, which is the nickname to his second home – Canada.

Be sure to look out for his upcoming project but for now, have a listen The Great EP – it’s worth a shot.

#TheMustListens: Emotional Reflection, Saturday Night, Love Da South.

Mixtape Review: Dark Science: Blaccc Lotus

BLACCC LOTUS (formerly known as KING HOLLOWAY) unleashed his latest project Dark Science which displays the conscious emcee’s signature raspy delivery of  misplaced trust, life’s hardships and pursuit of happiness over semi-dense bass with sweeter than sweet tones.

#TheMustlistens: Stray Away, The Reality Part 2, Real Hip Hop



Mixtape Review: Peru – Brandon Smith

Bradon Smith Peru

1. Music For the Slaves (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
2. Emily Brandon feat. Anette Sandberg (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
3. Fly Away (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
4. The Ocean (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
5. It’s Not Easy (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
6. Niggers/Black Men (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
7. The Peer Pressure (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
8. Krillin/Twerk feat. Mac Tutmose (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
9. 411 (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
10. 2 Weeks feat. Anette Sandberg (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
11. Numa (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
12. May 26th (Prod. by Brandon Smith)

Hip hop artist and producer BRANDON SMITH released his mixtape Peru last month. Featuring realist, straight-up-reality bites lyrics with incomparable beats (and at times, cleverly sampled tracks), this 12-track production have all traits of a well-seasoned rapper/producer whose clocked up quite a few life experiences. In fact this upriser is only sixteen years old.

Peru kicks off with the track, Song for the Slaves – and if you don’t know this rapper, the track is the perfect introduction to his slightly husky a raps over a downtrodden but somewhat pleasant beats. Fly Away keeps this mixtape on a high, as it could easily become a favourite for most die-hard hip hop heads. In Fly Away, the multi-talented artist  from Dallas really stepped up and sped up his freestyling over a jazz-infused, relaxing-on-a-beach drive. BRANDON SMITH  shows that he’s a teenager beyond his years, in Niggers/Black Men, where he candidly raps how the black society (more to the point black men) are portrayed by media. 411 features on-point, out-of-this-world sample of MARY J BLIGE classic of the same name -check-it-out!

Overall, Peru definitely deserves your ears –  this guy has A LOT to say on issues that many are afraid to bring up. So If you’re fed up with rappers going on about the high life and can handle the hard-hitting truth, have a listen to the mixtape…better still download it for FREE.