Check Out J French’s Lyric Video For Track, ‘Exotic Flowers.’

In the spirit of Valentine’s Day, Dallas-based rapper J French’s drops his hypnotic lyric video for latest single ‘Exotic Flowers’.

J French says of his new single: “I wanted to acknowledge how strong and dope women can be with this song. I do that by giving flowers to a few women I know personally. The first verse is dedicated to a longtime friend, and the second verse is dedicated to a love interest. Every woman is their own unique flower, and this song presents the whole bouquet.”

‘Exotic Flowers’ is the second single from French’s new album Good Karma. As his first album without profanity, the album is the result of deep introspection and therapy, and serves as French’s fourth full-length project, which topped digital streaming platforms and stores upon its release in late January.

Check out J French’s lyric video…

Song of the Day: Type 0 – Gear

Jumping into today’s hot spot is U.S. alt-rapper/producer GEAR and his rampant track entitled ‘Type-0’, his first release with label Potent Funk.

Hailing from Dallas, GEAR is a multi-talented artist who creates rap inspired by a smorgasbord of electronic genres.

Throughout his younger years, GEAR discovered a large realm of styles in deep corners of the internet. They included grime, industrial, dubstep, drum & bass, and more. His sound is the pounding product of these influences.

In addition to what he gained through an immersion in Southern rap, he also draws inspiration from countries across the globe, making for an incredibly left-field and unprecedented combination. Check out the video for ‘Type-0’ below…

Song of the Day: Humble – Kreative (ft. Anthem)

KREATIVE drops the sweet mainstream pop element, featured in previous releases, and gives full-on gritty hip-hop in his latest track, ‘Humble’.

This track is about finally reaching a breakthrough and paying homage to the supportive friends and loved one who saw the struggle to progress.

Go on, have a listen…

Song of the Day: By The Lake – Blaccc Lotus

NEW LEASE MUSIC is glad to see old fav BLACCC LOTUS still doing his thing. His last appearance was back in September with the sinisterly dark track, ‘SS 96’.

Now the conscious emcee presents an offering that’s equally sinister and dense…it’s worth checking out!

Mixtape Review: Peru – Brandon Smith

Bradon Smith Peru

1. Music For the Slaves (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
2. Emily Brandon feat. Anette Sandberg (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
3. Fly Away (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
4. The Ocean (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
5. It’s Not Easy (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
6. Niggers/Black Men (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
7. The Peer Pressure (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
8. Krillin/Twerk feat. Mac Tutmose (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
9. 411 (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
10. 2 Weeks feat. Anette Sandberg (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
11. Numa (Prod. by Brandon Smith)
12. May 26th (Prod. by Brandon Smith)

Hip hop artist and producer BRANDON SMITH released his mixtape Peru last month. Featuring realist, straight-up-reality bites lyrics with incomparable beats (and at times, cleverly sampled tracks), this 12-track production have all traits of a well-seasoned rapper/producer whose clocked up quite a few life experiences. In fact this upriser is only sixteen years old.

Peru kicks off with the track, Song for the Slaves – and if you don’t know this rapper, the track is the perfect introduction to his slightly husky a raps over a downtrodden but somewhat pleasant beats. Fly Away keeps this mixtape on a high, as it could easily become a favourite for most die-hard hip hop heads. In Fly Away, the multi-talented artist  from Dallas really stepped up and sped up his freestyling over a jazz-infused, relaxing-on-a-beach drive. BRANDON SMITH  shows that he’s a teenager beyond his years, in Niggers/Black Men, where he candidly raps how the black society (more to the point black men) are portrayed by media. 411 features on-point, out-of-this-world sample of MARY J BLIGE classic of the same name -check-it-out!

Overall, Peru definitely deserves your ears –  this guy has A LOT to say on issues that many are afraid to bring up. So If you’re fed up with rappers going on about the high life and can handle the hard-hitting truth, have a listen to the mixtape…better still download it for FREE.