Neak Reflects On The Black Experience In America Through Latest Album, ‘Die Wurzel’

Everything can be traced back to its roots. Sometimes, those roots are ignored, overlooked, unattended to, and uncared for. At the heart of American culture, the roots of African-American became nurtured through the historical beauty and ugliness of American society, and those cataclysmic experiences still resonate within the black culture, mindset, and way of life.

Conscious rapper and producer NEAK‘s latest album ‘Die Wurzel’, explores black life post 1619 to the present day. It is designed to make you pause, think, and reflect on the black experience in America with a level of compassion and sensitivity that has made way for perceived cultural black norms deriving from African-American’s trials and tribulations. Jammed back with black musical roots: gospel, soul, jazz, funk, and rap, ‘Die Wurzel’ is an intellectual, witty, and soul-driven musical journey that will hold a dear black in the heart of black urban society.

From the days of his childhood, Chicago-based Neak was bound to capture the same soulful essence of his father; Robert Kelly of the 60s R&B soul group, The Kelly Brothers. With soul and gospel music playing constantly throughout his household growing up, Neak soaked in stories from his father and uncles on their glory days of touring alongside legacy artists such as James Brown, Sam Cooke, Patti LaBelle, etc. It was only a matter of time before those stories became the backdrop for his inspiration to create music that reaches the inner-workings of humanity from the context of the black American cultural experience.

As time went on, Neak began building a foundation for himself as an MC, producer, event curator, and artist consultant. By collaborating with the likes of GLC, Add-2, Rashid Hadee, Rita J., Slot-A, etc., he developed an extensive discography that aesthetically reflected his soulful upbringing and love for golden era-esque style hip-hop–influences by hip-hop greats such as Nas, 2Pac, Common, MF Doom, Jay-Z, Lupe Fiasco, and Kanye West. This led him to begin touring the U.S. and Canada; performing in major cities such as New York, Vancouver (BC), Detroit, Seattle, Atlanta, Philadelphia, London (ON), Portland, St. Paul, Washington D.C., etc. He also was invited to and performed in major festivals such as A3C, Silver Room Block Party, and North Coast Music Festival. Sharing stages with music notables such as Pete Rock, Chance The Rapper, and Vic Mensa, his creativity continues to evolve and adapts to reflect the signs of the times.

Neak’s musical releases combined currently stand at over 450K streams, but his hunger to create beautiful music for the masses has just begun. Fresh off producing Rita J’s new album ‘The High Priestess,’ and joint effort with fellow crew members of NRFS (consisting of Neak himself, Rashid Hadee, F.A.B.L.E., and Since9ine6ix), as well as gearing up to release a collaborative album with singer/producer/director Cam Be entitled “a film called black”, his next solo effort ‘Die Wurzel’ is now available on all major streaming services. Check it out below plus the blog’s song recommendations…

Must Listens: Home, Famous, Black on Black Black on Blue, Memoirs of a Lost Nigga

Jason Griff & Alaska Team Up For First Release of 2023 ‘Pop Songs for the Apocalypse’ (Album)

Following the success of the critically acclaimed ‘Human Zoo’, JASON GRIFF and ALASKA are back with a new release, ‘Pop Songs for the Apocalypse’. released on Saturday (14th January), the new EP is 12 songs spanning just over 15 minutes and plays as one long track blended seamlessly together.

The EP was conceptually birthed from a youth spent obsessed with nuclear scares, satanic panics, revolutionary hip-hop and anarchist punk, Pop Songs for the Apocalypse drips with sarcastic cynicism and a fatalist distrust that can only come from Alaska and Jason Griff. Propelled by the breakneck neck pace of early 80s punk and the humorous venom of Ice Cube, no one is safe from being skewered, even the artists themselves. ‘Pop Songs for the Apocalypse’ is the perfect blend of “Fuck you, get off my lawn” and “We’re all gonna die so we might as well enjoy it.” These sentiments quickly become apparent on the opening song “Blowhards,” where Alaska repeatedly proclaims “I ain’t trying to hear nothing that nobody says,” and continues throughout the EP taking shots at politicians, trust fund kids and doomsday preppers alike.

‘Pop Songs for the Apocalypse’ is not on any streaming platforms and is available exclusively via and Bandcamp. In addition to digital downloads, the EP is also available on cassette. Check out the tracklist below:

  1. Blowhards
  2. No Nothing
  3. Cool as Johnny Gill
  4. Ya Uncle is a Crackhead
  5. Relay Race
  6. C & C Music Factory
  7. Welcome to Interrotron
  8. Hazmat Suits
  9. Rebel Smell
  10. Same Song
  11. Let’s Play Bohemia
  12. See Inside

Song of the Day: move. – Subrift

Originally from Belarus, Chicago-based artist, SUBRIFT brings along something veg out to for this weekend with single,’move,’ a super-viby lofi hip hop instrumental, that instantly mesmerising. Subrift’s almost-angelic voice patterned throughout the production.

It’s definitely worthy of attention. Check out ‘move.’ below…

Song of the Day: Sushi Date – Vandes Jackson

VANDES JACKSON‘s heartfelt single, ‘Sushi Date’ is the perfect joint for those lazy summer days with friends, thanks to its flowing mesmerising soundscapes and trance-like flow provided by the man himself.

Vandes Jackson is an American record producer and musician hailing from the culturally diverse city of Chicago, Illinois. Have a listen to his self-produced single, released via Bentley Records:

Check Out Aceron’s Latest Track, ‘Wavy’ + Video, Featuring Lil Eazy-E & Gizelle

Chicago’s rapper ACERON is back with his second single ‘Wavy’ taking from his soon to be released album, ‘Poise’.

For his latest release – which carries a heavy bass and strong percussions giving it that West Coast feel with a Midwest twist – Aceron taps the legendary godfather of Gangsta Rap Eazy-E’s first son, Lil Eazy-E to add some razor sharps bars. He also calls upon fellow Chicagoan R&B Songstress Gizelle who provides the voice for the silky smooth chorus that ties everything together.

Why not check out the video for ‘Wavy’ below…