Star Song: Here With You – PW


Today’s song is Here With You by British rapper PW. This track is coming from his EP, From PW With Love.

Here With You has been played on underground as well as commercial radio stations such as BBC 1Xtra and playlisted on Choice Fm’s A List, played in between the likes of RIHANNA, JAY-Z and JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE.

This track definitely deserves the recognition, as it features an on-point infusion of hip-hop, garage with a hint of afro-beats – go on, have a listen.  If you’re feeling the love from PW, return the love and head over to this SoundCloud page, where hear his upstarter’s other tracks.

Now this is just the beginning for this talented Londoner.  This guy has appeared on endless of online and print publications, finding his way to the front cover of British popular magazine Young Voices. He also supported acts like DAPPY, MINDLESS BEHAVIOR and CONOR MAYNARD. Best of all, he made his headline debut at the sold-out show at The Garage in London earlier this year.

Like I said, this is just the beginning for PW – so remember the name!

Review: Dayseam –Winds of Change

Dayseam logo

1. Borderline
2. Capture and Release
3. Disguise
4. Interstate
5. Projection
6. Razor Thin
7. Starts Again
8. The Minute
9. Two Flights
10. Winds of Change

In early 2008, Steve Mroozian (vocals and guitar), Ehsan Ahmad (lead guitar) and Sebastian Weiss (drums) came together, forming the alternative rock band DAYSEAM. Bringing their trademark sound of melodic rock to the table, the Philadelphia-based act made quite an impression – not just with true lovers of indie rock but also with music critics. Since they came into existence, it’s been full speed for the indie rockers: they’ve been booked up for live shows at well-known venues in Philadelphia, including The Hard Rock Café and The Northstar Bar. They even manage to find the time to make their Nature Sessions videos – this is where they put their own spin on chart-topping songs. The trio covered Rihanna’s Stay and more recently Justin Timberlake’s Mirrorscheck it out!

Now they are on the verge of releasing their studio album, Winds of Change. The ten track album features some full on, high energy rock demonstrated in Borderline, Capture and Release and Interstate. These tracks didn’t leave a lasting impression and left me wondering whether this band has got what it takes to stand out from the crowd. Then there’s a softer and more mellow side to Winds Of Change,  featured in Disguise, Projection, Starts Again and Two Flights. In these tracks, the raging guitars meet that sweet and dreamy undertone, topped off by Mroozian’s pleasantly soothing vocals – simply stunning. In Projection and Two Flights, there are some amazing guitar fiddling well executed by Ahmad and Mroozian.  Listening to the soothing side of the album has firmly pushed away the thought that the trio are not some run-of-the-mill rock  band.

Overall Winds of Change is definitely an album to look out for as their signature sound makes interesting listening (imagine a softer PEARL JAM and maybe chuck in a little bit of KINGS OF LEON). These guys are widely regarded as a ‘hugely underrated band’ but with tracks like Disguise, Projection and Starts Again, this might be a breakthrough year for DAYSEAM.

Winds of Change is out in August.