Song of the Day: Skip The Talking – Unique Hastings


Elements of seductive soul, R&B, Hip-Hop and pop, has pushed  UNIQUE HASTINGS‘ latest single, Skip The Talking to the dish of the day hotspot by NEW LEASE MUSIC. The sultry banger is set to appear on his upcoming album The Heart of a Dreamer.

A singer, rapper, songwriter and producer, the South Londoner soul-pop sensation, is a multi-talented artist with music in his veins. His father owned a recording studio and his mother taught him to sing. On top of this, both his grandparents were musicians.

All this spurred him to follow his passions as a musician. He has since been involved in a number of exciting projects, producing music for a Virgin Media digital campaign as well as collaborating with Chris Brown for a remix of the R&B artist’s single Run it. His touring meanwhile has taken him all over the world, playing acclaimed venues such as the O2 Arena in London and Apollo Theater in New York, supporting names as big as Ludacris and De La Soul.

Unique Hastings is likely to appeal to fans of Pharrell Williams, Justin Timberlake and Seal, combining their collective pop appeal, whilst also channelling his own distinct smoky vocal tone and stylistic diversity.

On top of his musical endeavours, the singer has also co-starred in an award-winning short film titled Shantell Town, the soundtrack of which he also co-produced.

The slick crooner has another exciting single on the way titled Gimme All Ur Luvin, plus a full-length album titled The Heart of A Dreamer set to drop next year.

Now you know everything you need to know about this hot property, it’s time to sample his latest track…happy Friday!

EP Review: Beast Side – Tom Bem

Tom Bem Beast Side

Following the release of his well-received debut EP Shallows, TOM BEM slams another one entitled Beast Side, released earlier this month.

Displaying his usual emotionally intensive arrangements, the South-East London producer and singer injects vulnerability in this vocals, revealing the battle within himself in containing his emotions during the turbulent years of his life. Among the stunningly atmospheric soundscapes, there’s a tinge of Timbaland/Timberlake influence present in some tracks…hit the play and see what you think…answers below please!

The Must Listens: Rebound, Hide & Seek, Kalashnikov 

New Track: Flamethrower – James Robb

James robb

JAMES ROBB has released Flamethrower earlier this month, the first single taken from his forthcoming EP.

Written by the man himself and produced by Malaysian artist Kuizz, the latest Justin Timberlake-esque offering, is all about being burned in a relationship…that horrible taste it leaves in the mouth.

With a voice and tone beyond his years, this one UK singer/songwriter that’s definitely on the rise. With original music rooted in his love for pop and R&B, he manages to captivate the authenticity of songwriting, driven by his rich soulful vocals. Raised in a musical family, this upriser was quick to realise the importance of learning his craft as a songwriter and artist. He started to join writing sessions at an early age and performed numerous gigs around his hometown, Hitchin.

In the past year Robb headlined gigs in Ibiza as well the UK, including performances at London Fashion Week and Gordon Ramsay restaurants. He’s currently working on his EP which is set for release later this year…so get an insight into his upcoming project and check out Flamethrower (available on iTunes).

Star Song: Here With You – PW


Today’s song is Here With You by British rapper PW. This track is coming from his EP, From PW With Love.

Here With You has been played on underground as well as commercial radio stations such as BBC 1Xtra and playlisted on Choice Fm’s A List, played in between the likes of RIHANNA, JAY-Z and JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE.

This track definitely deserves the recognition, as it features an on-point infusion of hip-hop, garage with a hint of afro-beats – go on, have a listen.  If you’re feeling the love from PW, return the love and head over to this SoundCloud page, where hear his upstarter’s other tracks.

Now this is just the beginning for this talented Londoner.  This guy has appeared on endless of online and print publications, finding his way to the front cover of British popular magazine Young Voices. He also supported acts like DAPPY, MINDLESS BEHAVIOR and CONOR MAYNARD. Best of all, he made his headline debut at the sold-out show at The Garage in London earlier this year.

Like I said, this is just the beginning for PW – so remember the name!

Review: Dayseam –Winds of Change

Dayseam logo

1. Borderline
2. Capture and Release
3. Disguise
4. Interstate
5. Projection
6. Razor Thin
7. Starts Again
8. The Minute
9. Two Flights
10. Winds of Change

In early 2008, Steve Mroozian (vocals and guitar), Ehsan Ahmad (lead guitar) and Sebastian Weiss (drums) came together, forming the alternative rock band DAYSEAM. Bringing their trademark sound of melodic rock to the table, the Philadelphia-based act made quite an impression – not just with true lovers of indie rock but also with music critics. Since they came into existence, it’s been full speed for the indie rockers: they’ve been booked up for live shows at well-known venues in Philadelphia, including The Hard Rock Café and The Northstar Bar. They even manage to find the time to make their Nature Sessions videos – this is where they put their own spin on chart-topping songs. The trio covered Rihanna’s Stay and more recently Justin Timberlake’s Mirrorscheck it out!

Now they are on the verge of releasing their studio album, Winds of Change. The ten track album features some full on, high energy rock demonstrated in Borderline, Capture and Release and Interstate. These tracks didn’t leave a lasting impression and left me wondering whether this band has got what it takes to stand out from the crowd. Then there’s a softer and more mellow side to Winds Of Change,  featured in Disguise, Projection, Starts Again and Two Flights. In these tracks, the raging guitars meet that sweet and dreamy undertone, topped off by Mroozian’s pleasantly soothing vocals – simply stunning. In Projection and Two Flights, there are some amazing guitar fiddling well executed by Ahmad and Mroozian.  Listening to the soothing side of the album has firmly pushed away the thought that the trio are not some run-of-the-mill rock  band.

Overall Winds of Change is definitely an album to look out for as their signature sound makes interesting listening (imagine a softer PEARL JAM and maybe chuck in a little bit of KINGS OF LEON). These guys are widely regarded as a ‘hugely underrated band’ but with tracks like Disguise, Projection and Starts Again, this might be a breakthrough year for DAYSEAM.

Winds of Change is out in August.