Review: The Life Vol. 1 – King Dice O

King Dice O The Life Vol.1

1.Intro Feat. King Dice O
2. Art Of Life Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
3. Roll The Dice (The Come Up) Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
4. My Soul Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
5. Dark Knights  Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon, Swey Cannon
6. Move Forward Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
7.  My Story (Prod TW$) Feat. Dice Cannon Ft. Frass As Hell, King Dice O
8. Drive (Prod TW$) Feat. Jason Black Ft. Dice Cannon, King Dice O
9. Story of Sam Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
10. Realest Shit Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
11.Something To Tell. Feat Dice Cannon Ft. King Dice O
12. Lounge Music  (Prod Juice Cannon) King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
13. Sex Music King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon
14. Swagg vs Class Feat. Dice Cannon Ft King Dice O
15. Retrospect Feat. King Dice O
16. Suicide Feat. Jason Black Ft. Dice Cannon, King Dice O
17. Structures Of Struggle Feat. Jason Black Ft. Dice Cannon, King Dice O
18. Poetry In Motion (Outro) Feat. King Dice O Ft. Dice Cannon

It’s good to have KING DICE O and his long-time collaborator DICE CANNON back here on NEW LEASE MUSIC. These guys were featured with tracks Drive (produced by TW$) and the loved up Something to Tell and the announcement of the long-awaited mixtape The Life Vol.1 back in August.

Now it’s finally here and I have the pleasure of reviewing this mixtape –these guys are not afraid to mix (at times) atmospheric, spaced out hip hop with a little old time soul, acid jazz and reggae– and they definitely not afraid of delivering their innovative raps with straight up, truth-need-to-be-told lyrics.

Tracks The Art of Life, My Soul, Move Forward and My Story feature that spaced out hip hop where these rappers deliver first class spoken word freestyling of obstacles that life presents. The Life Vol. 1 is just like a chocolate sundae – as you dig deeper it gets sweeter. Still featuring the hard-hitting lyrics, track Story of Sam, nicely switches the tone of the mixtape with its easy gliding grooves. The lyrics lighten up in the SLUM VILLAGE-esque Lounge Music and old school funk/spaced with reggae infused Swagg vs. Class.

The Life Vol.1 ends on a high with Struggle of Structure. Sampled from INCOGNITO’s track Deep Waters, these guys raps just oozes into the acid jazz infused production – this one is a must listen

Now I’m not just saying this for the sake of it, but this mixtape definitely deserves the hype, as these guys definitely worked hard to perfect their on-point fusion of hip hop, acid jazz, and soul with a touch of reggae. The fact the they mix hip hop with all these genres is at least a little intriguing  – so quench your curiosity  and head right here to check out the mixtape.

News: New Video for track Catch Up – D.O.C

If you’re a NEW LEASE MUSIC regular, you might remember that rapper D.O.C was featured last month with his track, Catch Up (produced by TW$).

Now the New Yorker has recently release the video to this super dope track – check it out!

Star Song: Catch Up – D.O.C (produced by TW$)


Today’s song is Catch Up by New York hip-hop upstart D.O.C.

The StreetRoc recruit – whose real name is Devon Riley – grew up listening to hip-hip greats such as TUPAC, BUSTA RHYMES, JAY-Z and METHOD MAN. But this young rapper has his own style and flow – just listen to the hip-hop/funk Catch Up.

As for the producers – TW$ – they may be new to the game, but they are masters of bringing hip-hop to a whole new level with their incomparable productions. TW$ has worked with other on-point rappers, including KING DICE O and DICE CANON.

Have a blast at Catch Up. If you’re feeling this track, you can visit TW$ SoundCloud page to check out more of their masterpieces. Also visit D.O.C SoundCloud page – as there’s more on-point tracks to follow….

Review: Blunder – Dorm Sessions


1. Rain Dance (Prod. Kno)
2. Kill Em With The Beat (prod. Nick Wisdom)
3. Faith (prod J. Dilla)
4. No Sense (prod.  DA)
5. Scottie Pippen Freestyle (prod. The Alchemist)
6. Mean Something (prod. Freddie Joachim)
7. Look of Love (prod. j.Dilla)
8. Be Like Them (Prod. Dot)
9. AFO (prod. Kan Kick)
10. That’s Definitely Marijuana (prod. Loopnuts)
11.  Fuck You (prod. Freddie Joachim)
12. All Night Freestyle (prod. Lord Finesse )
13. The Hard Way (prod. Freddie Joachim)
14. Crew Love (prod. TephLon
15. Timeless (prod J. Dilla)

After working on his mixtape (in a dorm room), from November 2012 to March of this year, hip-hop upriser BLUNDER now presents Dorm Sessions. In his bio the New Yorker said there’s no concept to the mixtape – just a ‘complications of tracks that come of out those late night recordings’. Dorm Sessions is definitely a personal roller-coaster journey that life presents. There are lyrics full of love (especially for hip-hop), hate, fear, hope and uncertainty stretched over this 15-track production. It’s been quite a journey for the teenage unsigned rapper as he was diagnosed with a form of non-Hodgkins lymphoma called mediastinal large B cell, and he is currently undergoing chemo treatment.

His battle with the disease is documented in Rain Dance and Look of Love. These tracks deserve to be heard as beyond the personal journey, there are some undeniably dope beats topped BLUNDER’s faultless flow.

If you haven’t heard of this guy’s material, take time out and listen to the mixtape as there some seriously cool (and may I add very relatable) tracks that can become favourites in an instant (to be honest, it was a struggle to find my star song!) In Mean Something, hip-hop upriser raps about his upbringing and relationship with parents over a superfly, old school-inspired beats.

Dorm Sessions certainly don’t end in anticlimax as it takes on the love theme with super slick tracks All Night, Crew Love and SLUM-VILLAGE influenced  Timeless. In these tracks, you really get to witness and appreciate this guy’s second-to-none flow that perfectly grooves into each production.

In a nutshell, from start to finish, Dorm Sessions is absolutely wicked – a MUST listen. It’s been a rocky journey for BLUNDER to produce this mixtape – but with these well-polished tracks, it must have been worth the bumpy ride.

Star Song: JproD – Trill Shit, I Really Mean That


I’m really digging this track! Today’s star song is from super cool rapper JproD (pronounced Jeopardy). The New Yorker released his seriously laid back track, Trill Shit, I Really Mean That on SoundCloud –  take time out and listen to the track and  just hear the way he raps effortlessly across the spaced out, head nodding production. It’s absolutely wicked!

Although he has all the right indigents to become a successful mainstream hip-hop artist, JproD is not your typical rapper – so you won’t be seeing this guy making a music video in a club full of honeys! Instead he lets his lyrics, which are fuelled with life experiences, do the work and hopes everyone can relate to it. Aspiring to be a role model, he wants people to feel they can achieve their dream and to be comfortable with who they are – and not be afraid to be different. I like this guy already!

This is just the beginning of JproD, as there’s an album in the pipeline…so keep your eyes peeled on the reviews section!

So go on, have a listen to the track.  If, like me, you’re digging this tune, head over to SoundCloud and listen to JproD’s other release A Million Feelings.