OneDa Teams Up With Mr Scruff For Double A-Side Single ‘Warrior’s Daughter / Rollin’

Manchester MC and vibes queen ONEDA collaborates with Mr Scruff to drop a new double A-Side on Heavenly Recordings. ‘Warrior’s Daughter’ / ‘Rollin’ is the latest release from Ms Manny On The Rise.

‘Warrior’s Daughter’ is built on the feeling of needing to go out and move to music – and to dance the fear away. “That’s me,” says OneDa, who grew up in Hulme and Gorton and who started out in the church her family ran. “I’m a warrior’s daughter. I’m strong, I’m not going to be fearful.” The track took on new meaning after her father died at the end of last year, which also involved spending time in Nigeria for the funeral. “When I think about being a warrior I think about my ancestors. I come from warrior blood. I’m not letting anything get me down.” Producer Mr Scruff explained that the tune was inspired by Johnny Kalsi’s dhol playing. “It is like a rowdy, unstoppable march, rolling forward in a spirit of rude celebration. I hope this tune does justice as a fitting tribute to OneDa’s father.”

‘Rollin’ is a big beast with stripped back beats n bass grounding OneDa’s high energy flow, which gained airplay on BBC Introducing. “I loved writing it with OneDa,” said Factory Floor’s Gabe Gurnsey. “The vibe was there immediately. I wanted a foundation of pure danceable rhythm and simplicity coupled with a killer lead vocal hook and rap, which OneDa delivered, no messing about.” The tracks follow ‘Vibes’ and ‘Busta’ which came out on Heavenly last year. Last year OneDa also featured on D’n’B stormer ‘Ballin’ with Vibe Chemistry, picking up 20 million plays on Spotify.

The Rude Girl Soundsystem – “big energy, big vibes, mad energetic” – is her all-new live show. It features OneDa with one of her DJs (Stylie, Jazzy Lioness or Presh) playing hip hop, drum n bass, breakbeats and afrobeats, with Stylie coming out from behind the decks to pick up the mic and go b2b. When she supported KRS1 at the Blues Kitchen last November the show included their own freestyled tribute to his 1980s classic MCs Act Like They Don’t Know. The two artists chatted after the show – “a sick experience”.

OneDa has recently taken over a weekly drivetime show on Unity Radio, playing the music that moves her. “It’s me just spreading my good vibes, really, pussy power”. The show includes a 45 minute ‘On The Rise’ section championing up and coming artists. OneDa’s also running Herchester, which is a project for women, non-binary and trans hip hop artists, aimed at uplifting young female and non-binary DJs and Producers.

Delivering on the music and the positive vibes – that’s OneDa…check her out below…

Song of the Day: Super Soldier – State Of Nation (ft. Ghost Killah & Killah Priest)

London based artist and producer STATE OF NATION has teamed up with the Legendary Wu-Tang Clan for the rambunctious track, ‘Super Soldier’ taken from State of Nation’s debut album ‘Dark to Light’, to be released at the end of 2022.

​​Ghostface Killah comes through and rocks a super cosmic opening with galactic level articulation and hype delivery to kick off the journey into the Super Soldier story! In true, unique, Ironman style, Ghost takes us interstellar before the breathtaking chorus locks in the catchy and emotional hook. The depth of the second verse dropped by the ever philosophical Killah Priest is a testament to his expansive knowledge of the universe. The storytelling of Priest captures your imagination in ways that no other rapper can come even close to on this rollercoaster rhyme.

​Check out the bad boy production below…

Sibling Duo Beatnik Share Their EP, ‘Vol.2’

After years of contributing to London’s rich club culture via their Beatnik-themed parties, beloved YouTube channel, and having spun across many eras — from the Y2K pirate radio movement down to world tour arenas — BEATNIK is back with their latest full-length tape ‘Vol. 2’, a collection of six tracks that wanders through the worlds of drum & bass, R&B, dancehall, rap and electropop.

‘Vol. 2’ isn’t a solo affair — there are plenty of noteworthy guest cameos. D&B belter ‘Never So Much’ features vocals from UK songwriting legend and performer Royston, who worked closely with Estelle on her debut LP ‘The 18th Day’.

Beatnik are also both prolific DJs having spun on six continents in more than 70 countries, for events such as The British Fashion Awards, Glastonbury, Isle of Wight Fest and parties for Jay-Z and Beyoncé, Giuseppe Zanotti, ASOS and the F1 races. Working together officially for well over a decade, Beatnik has landed spins on Radio 1Xtra, Rinse FM, Reprezent, Ibiza Radio and many more.

In the studio, the duo has worked with many artists including bass guitar polymath Thundercat, All Saints, LA dancehall artists Nik and Navi, rock band Will & The People, Tyson and UK R&B legend Terri Walker.

When she’s not busy with her Beatnik mantle, Nikki is the personal DJ for Kelis [Milkshake, Caught Out There, Bounce, Trick Me] when she tours the globe, with a partnership spanning over 15 years. With their latest project ‘Vol. 2’, Beatnik has assembled one of 2022’s strongest six-track runs from any genre. Have a listen below.

Album Review: Konfidence – Kit Rice

Previously featured tracks, ‘Just A Kiss’ and ‘Always Been This Way’ have set a curious tone for KIT RICE‘s brand new album entitled ‘Konfidence’, released on Monday (25th June).

I was very privileged to be invited to Kit’s album release launch party on Monday at London’s  229 The Venue Club and I gotta say this newcomer’s – along with the backing singers – well-poised vocals has compelled me even more to the eight-track collection.

‘Konfidence’ certainly matched the full-on confidence of the live performances I witnessed, by kicking off with a boisterous sound of the UKG scene, before offering up more club filling makeovers of the original R&B/soulful offerings, ‘Always Been This Way’ and ‘Just A Kiss’, with the help of producers Operator S and DJIMON.

The combination of that UKG vibes and smooth R&B offers the perfect balance throughout the album, topped off by the 2017 Voice contestant’s soulful vocal which effortlessly flows between the two genres.

With this pretty neat set, KIT RICE firmly holds onto the title as one of the most exciting and promising artists that the UK has seen in a very long time…

Make sure you check him out below:

Must Listens: Just A Kiss, Always Been This Way (original versions)

New Lease Music’s Top Ten Songs of 2016


stay up stay blessed


10. New Drug – Tre’lb


9. A Place Far Away – Goldsands


8. In The Morning –  Sophie Longshaw


7. Razor – 1000WAYSWASTED


6. Expensive (from The Intent Soundtrack) – Big Tobz


5. Stay Up, Stay Blessed – Meru Maud’ Dib


4. Ready & Waiting (ft. MceBisi) –  Becca B


3. Thinking About It (Let It Go) – Nathan Goshen (KVR Remix)


2. See You In The Stars – The Optical Illusion


1. Kick  – 3KNGZ