Review: Romaine Dixon – Lost In It All

Romaine Dixon

1. Only One
2. Perfect Stranger
3. Wanting More
4. Guilty (Extended Version)
5. Private Dancer
6.  Live Better

There are some singers that are way too good to be left by the waste side – and ROMAINE DIXON is one of them. I featured  this R&B singer/songwriter/dancer recently here on NEW LEASE MUSIC with her knockout performance of the track Wanting More – which is one of her release from her debut EP Lost In It All, out today.

This six-track EP is bursting with R&B pop and dance numbers, topped off by the South Londoner’s well- crafted songwriting – and rich soulful vocals. Lost In It All features sultry tracks Only One and Private Dancer which shows that this all-round entertainer has all the right ingredients to make it AND Stay in the music business. The EP just keeps getting better, as ROMAINE DIXON effortlessly rocks to the high-energy club track Guilty, but the star track of the EP is Live Better. From a very young age, the 20 year old has been perfecting her singing, song writing and dancing and Live Better documents her journey and determination of becoming a creditable artist. An absolute must listen.

Over the past year, ROMAINE DIXON has performed at the Olympic Stadium as well as various gigs around London. Judging from this album, it won’t be long that she will perform beyond her hometown and become a firm fixture in the charts.

Review: Richie Ashwin –Richie Ashwin


1. Glass Heart
2. Hold Your Breath
3. Until We Bleed (Ft. Lykke Li)
4. Chasing Summer
5. Dear Ex

Blessed with good looks, you could say that RICHIE ASHWIN could easily fit in a manufactured boy band. But beyond the mesmerising exterior, lies some serious (and I mean serious) talent that definitely is too good for any mainstream group (sorry!)

The British singer, songwriter and producer recently released his self-titled EP on SoundCloud and so far he has developed a fan base particularly in Chicago! This five track album offers atmospheric R&B infused with an element of dubstep and hip-hop, coupled with lyrics that exposed pure love, lust and some serious heartache (man, who hurt this guy!)

Ever wondered what atmospheric R&B sounds like? Listen to Glass Heart. If you’re unfamiliar with Ashwin’s work, Glass Heart is the perfect introduction, as the second you hear this Londoner’s cool and collected vocals, you’ll realise that this guy means business!

Well, I thought Glass Heart was an eyebrow-raising moment for me, until I heard Hold Your Breath. As I was enjoying the oh- so-smooth vocals, Ashwin suddenly breaks into an equally soothing rap – I was surprised, pleasantly surprised! To top it off, I was exposed to more of his casual-rapping style in Until We Bleed and dubstep-infused Chasing Summer. It suddenly dawned on me that Ashwin is not just a talented singer/songwriter, but a super fly rapper that could easily make it in the mainstream.

The EP ends with a high with the hip-hop infused Dear Ex where you really appreciate this multi-talented guy as a rapper. As I said before, this is an excellent introduction to this artist – I think I’ve witnessed a birth of a star…DRAKE, move over!

I’m begging you, have a listen to this EP and rest assured, you’ll enjoyed it as much as I did! If you’re loving the songs –I have good news for you- you can download the entire EP for FREE (yes, free) on SoundCloud!